To get or not to get a degree

My mom has requested me getting a 4 year college degree in my respective field just like my dad. The expectation irritates me as I want to settle in Canada shortly after getting Multimedia Design and Programming Certificates. Additionally, her request doesn’t  account the starkly different educational situations between my father and I:
1. My dad moved to the USA for college classes but I’m taking college classes to move out of the USA.

2. My dad was 21 years old when he graduated college in Egypt and already set his eyes on the goal of an agricultural job afterwards. At 22 years of age, I was still a non-graduate student when setting eyes on the goal of becoming a videogame programmer.

3. As a student in the USA, my dad lived at a time period when 4 year colleges weren’t as expensive.

4. When my dad was attending college, he lived in a time where 4 year college degrees provided a better chance of employment but I live in a time where the monetary cost of getting a 4 year college degree outweighs any employment chances for a 4 year college degree holder.

Leave a comment

Filed under Videogames

Leave a Reply

